Home > Internet Sensation > Santorum announces campaign suspended. Also Cubs suspend their campaign for 2012 World Series

Santorum announces campaign suspended. Also Cubs suspend their campaign for 2012 World Series

 

(Newser)–Rick Santorum is out. He officially left the GOP race today in Pennsylvania, saying his daughter Bella’s most recent scare in the hospital caused him to re-evaluate things. “This race is over for me,” he said, adding that he’ll continue to fight to help defeat President Obama. He did not, however, mention Mitt Romney in his speech, reports AP. The move helps Santorum avoid a potentially embarrassing home-state loss to Romney on April 24, notes Politico, and allows him to leave the race with an impressive underdog showing. “Against all odds, we won 11 states,” he said. “This was a time for prayer and thought, this past weekend, just like it was, frankly, when we decided to get into this race. Karen and I and the kids sat at the kitchen table and talked about our hopes and fears and concerns,” said Santorum. He added later: “Miracle after miracle, this race was as improbable as any you will ever see for president.”

So long sweet prince.  We hardly knew thee.  I never had a problem with Santorum.  He campaigned as a Southern Baptist even though he voted as a moderate.  So whatever, he hates birth control, women, gays, blacks, whites, muslims, blah blah blah.  I never actually believed any of that.  To be honest, I am kinda impressed that the nerdy moderate you see above was able to convince so many people to vote for him when he had no money and the media HATED him.  I guess they’ll have to find someone else to hate.  I’d bet my bottom dollar it’s Mitt.

 

PS: I know I have said it before, but I really want someone to adopt the “I am crazy…and I am right” campaign slogan from that video.  I’d vote for a crazy guy if he was right.  Probably more inclined to vote for a crazy guy that is honest enough to admit he is crazy.  You just don’t see that out of politicians nowadays.

Follow me @WindyCitiSports

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

