Home > Internet Sensation > Guy Selling Jokes in NYC for $1 a piece is making serious scrilla

Guy Selling Jokes in NYC for $1 a piece is making serious scrilla

(Splitsider)–This is either inspiring or discouraging, depending on how you feel about selling the type of jokes you’d find in joke books you bought from the book fair in 2nd grade: Jason Schneider is selling $1 jokes in Central Parkand seems to be making a decent amount of money doing it. On his first day, he made $140 in six hours, and presumably makes more now. As for his jokes? Well, I’ll let you judge them for yourself:

What do you call Chewbacca when he’s working with clay? “Harry Potter,” Jason Schneider, 26, quipped for tourists from Pittsburgh who tossed a greenback into his neon green money bucket over Labor Day weekend. They laughed.

Who did the promiscuous cow sleep with?

“Udderly everyone,” he zinged. Another laugh.

Hooooo boy. And to think, this guy is potentially making a decent amount of money handing out punchlines like this. But you know, maybe he’s onto something:

“He’s funnier than a lot of comedians we’ve seen in comedy clubs,” said one of the guys from Pittsburgh, Murray Shapiro, 59.

On the one hand, those jokes make me want to never hear a joke again. On the other, he’s taking matters into his own hands and making money/getting press for writing jokes. Who knows how sustainable selling punny jokes to tourists is, but hey, he’s getting paid to write jokes, isn’t he? Gotta give him some begrudging respect for that.

Are you kidding me with this bullshit?  This guy is making $20 an hour giving out jokes from popsicle sticks while I am sitting here blogging my ass off for the man and I don’t have two nickels to rub together.  If I charged everyone a dollar per joke I’d be a bazillionaire by now.  Who did the slutty cow sleep with?…Udderly everyone…that’s the best you got bro?  I guess my dad could have been a successful comedy writer too because I have rolling my eyes at jokes like that since I was three.  Anyways, I am going to just continue spitting out hilarious fire for free(or best offer) so the people have something to get them through their day.

PS: Pittsburgh comedy clubs must really suck. “He’s funnier than a lot of comedians we’ve seen in comedy clubs,” said one of the guys from Pittsburgh, Murray Shapiro, 59.  If this guy ever came to Chicago he’d piss his pants from laughing.  Second City bro, ever heard of it?

follow me @windycitisports

  1. michaela
    September 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Hilarious. Loves it! 95% of the time, your blog makes me laugh every time

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

