Home > Guide to Women, Internet Sensation > Can men and women be “just friends”?

Can men and women be “just friends”?

 

So this video is several months old, but I don’t think I ever posted it.  I got into a discussion with a few girls on twitter who actually believed that men and women could be friends.  Nothing could be further from the truth and this guy from Utah State absolutely nails it.  Chicks just so naive thinking we don’t want more or wouldn’t take more if given the opportunity.  That doesn’t make us bad people…it’s just simple biology.  But here is the other thing…I think girls would be flat-out devastated if they found out that their guy “friend” wouldn’t hook up with them.  They sneaky know that these guys want to hook up with them and they love holding the cards.

The dreaded term “friend zone” exists for a reason.  No guy wants to be in the friend zone.  However, sometimes we will take what we can get.  Just lay in the weeds hoping that somewhere down the road you’ll slip up and make a drunken mistake.

PS: This girl was the hottest in the video…

PPS: Hey Bill Walton, sup brah?

 

 

Follow the Chief @WindyCitiSports 

 

  1. Danny Mac
    May 17, 2012 at 9:36 am

    100% truth, any dude that says otherwise is gay or a religious extremest

  2. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Ok so basically, the guy always secretly wants his friend but doesn’t act on it. But isn’t that the same as being friends? I’m the only girl in my group of friends except the revolving door of girlfriends and its been that way for years. I don’t look at them as anything more but if they look at me that way, they’ve never expressed it to me. And I’m happy with that :)

  3. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 11:49 am

    OK, I’m here. Where’s everyone else?

  4. May 17, 2012 at 11:51 am

    I’m here

    • May 17, 2012 at 11:56 am

      Me too. Ok…you can’t just “hook up” with your friend’s sister. You have to kinda be in it to win it. Its a sticky situation. That’s how my parents met though. My dad married the sister of his college buddy. They met at his wedding. Then I have a cousin who married her brother’s roommate. Both still happily married. That’s the play if you go that route.

      • Sean
        May 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

        Was it ok from the beginning?

  5. May 17, 2012 at 11:54 am

    No it’s not 100% truth. And I am neither label Danny said.

  6. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Ok so basically, I think men and women can be friends without sex. That is not to say that a man may not be thinking of it, but he doesn’t have to act on it or even voice it. Therefore, they can remain friends.

  7. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    I agree with Ryan, just hooking up with your friends sibling is too hard. Personally, I am not a casual hookup kind of girl anyway. But, too many tricky variables involved when dealing with family members of close friends.

  8. May 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    I agree. Sex does not need to be involved. men and women can be friends only without that being involved.

  9. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Um, Dave you lost me. Who is Danny?

  10. May 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I won’t do a casual hookup, either.

  11. May 17, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Very first comment on here, Cara.

  12. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    NVM I answered my own question lol

  13. Sean
    May 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    I finally made it! Lol

  14. May 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    lol

  15. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Ok, so Dave, answer the question I gave Sean, would you date a friend of your ex?

  16. May 17, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    I don’t think so. That would be awkward.

    • Sean
      May 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      I agree with Dave…especially if it ended badly. Your friend needs time to move on and they can’t if that person is always around. Or it would take a lot longer at the least.

      • Sean
        May 17, 2012 at 12:24 pm

        BTW, I’m going to apologize ahead of time for any grammar mistakes. I hated English class…great with numbers tho! “p

      • May 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

        In general I am a believer in looking out for number one. If you think you have a real future with the ex-gf of a friend you owe it to yourself to make a move. Having said that…I have never gone down that road and probably wouldn’t. Pretty girls are a dime a dozen and you can find one that didn’t used to date your buddy. Also…I don’t like the idea of a friend of mine having had sex with a girl I am seeing.

  17. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Really? Why?

    • May 17, 2012 at 12:24 pm

      Ok a few things…
      1) YesFan are you saying you would never do a casual hook up? Umm…why not ?

      2) If the guy has feelings for his “friend”, but doesn’t feel comfortable enough to express those feelings how good of a friendship is that?

      3) Cara, just because none of your friends have made a move doesnt mean that they haven’t thought about it. Also…when you do end up getting married those guys will fade away. No chance you are as close are you now…unless you marry one of the guys in that circle. Then their relationship to each other will keep your friendship alive.

      • Sean
        May 17, 2012 at 12:31 pm

        Its my belief that relationships that a hit when people get married in general. I’m not saying that you wouldn’t be friends still but it won’t be as strong.

  18. May 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Something about that would make me uneasy. I can’t put my finger on it.

  19. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Hmmm interesting. I happen to disagree with both of you lol.

    • May 17, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Of course, that may also depend on if it was a bad break-up or not.

  20. May 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Because love needs to be in the equation. I won’t have sex with another unless she and I love each other. Pure and simple.

    • Cara
      May 17, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      But you have to have a physical attraction to her correct?

  21. May 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    So, looks matter to you?

    • May 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      That was directed to chief

    • Sean
      May 17, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      Looks matter to everyone if they say they don’t then their lying. The first thing you notice about someone is how they look. You can’t find out how someone is on the inside from across the room.

      • May 17, 2012 at 12:52 pm

        No, looks don’t matter. And I am not lying. I see many couples who are together and neither have these “good looks.” They had to get to know each other somehow. Beauty always starts from within. What’s outside is superficial.

    • May 17, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      Umm yeah looks matter to me. Are you serious? They matter to everyone.

      • May 17, 2012 at 12:53 pm

        Really? Tell that to my 2 brothers then.

    • Cara
      May 17, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      Looks matter to a point Dave. Looks are what attracts you to someone in the first place. BUT, personality will enhance or decrease someone’s looks in my eyes. Personality keeps me but looks draw me in first.

      • Sean
        May 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm

        Exactly! Btw, well said. “)

      • May 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

        Well, my 2 brothers weren’t attracted to their wives by their looks.

      • May 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm

        Yeah Dave, the reason people who aren’t good looking get together is because not everyone is capable of landing a Katherine Jenkins or a Tom Brady. You marry/date in your class. 10s with 10s, 9s with 9s, etc. The exception to that rule is when rocket girls marry below their looks because the guy is wealthy, extremely talented, or a hilarious blogger.

    • Cara
      May 17, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Dave beauty is from within, as far as overall personality. But there has to be a physical attraction to someone to have sex with them. I mean, would you have sex with someone you didn;t find attractive? Honestly?

      • May 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm

        My 2 sisters in law are not that attractive—yet have children. Many females are not that attractive, yet have children.

      • May 17, 2012 at 2:00 pm

        I wouldn’t exactly say they are/were homely. But my point was what they looked like did not matter to them. How they got together I don’t know. Or how some of the couples in my building got together I don’t know, either. But the looks did not matter in the slightest. Sometimes it takes as little as a casual conversation. Or an act of kindness.

  22. Sean
    May 17, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Chief, the one thing I wanted to reply on I can’t! Hahaha

    Anyways, your point on finding on there being other girls out there is my whole point. You don’t have to even go down that path to begin with. Why? Just because it’s easier to talk to someone that you already know…

    • Sean
      May 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      I’m starting to fuckin’ hate auto correction? SMH

  23. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Well that makes me sad that I would lose people that mean so much to me. I personally think any man coming into my life has to accept my friends and the relationship we have. I’ve been friends with this little core group since I was 15. I honestly can’t imagine them not being around.

    • Sean
      May 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Cara, you have to make sure that “Mr. Right” is confident enough in himself and wont be threatened by other men.

      • Cara
        May 17, 2012 at 12:46 pm

        Well he has to if he’s going to fit in my life. They are like family to me. I spend more time with them then my actual family lol. We travel together, share hotel rooms, they are constantly at my house eating. I literally have next to no time alone. EVER

  24. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Sean, why can’t you respond? Go ahead. Everyone else is spilling, its your turn :P

  25. Sean
    May 17, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    I’ve decided to use my computer instead. iPhone was giving me all sorts of problems. User errors I’m sure…haha

  26. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    yesfan1971 :
    Really? Tell that to my 2 brothers then.

    So your 2 brothers married homely women? But maybe to them, the women are attractive. We all have different standards of attractiveness. What I find hot, someone else won’t. But its still a physical attraction. Its simple biology. There are evolutionary reasons that we choose the looks/attributes that we do. Then factor in personal preferences such as hair color, eyes, etc.

    • May 17, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      There is the point. It wasn’t in their looks, but in who they are. That was the physical attraction.

      • Cara
        May 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

        No, that’s not physical attraction. Physical attraction is a chemical reaction. It is a PHYSICAL thing, Loving someone for WHO they are is different. Different chemicals, different parts of the brain affected. I can’t imagine sleeping with someone I found physically repulsive, no matter how nice they are. Sorry if that makes me shallow but its true.

      • May 17, 2012 at 1:12 pm

        That’s not shallow, that’s science. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but there are certain things that just can’t be denied.

    • May 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      The Chief :
      Yeah Dave, the reason people who aren’t good looking get together is because not everyone is capable of landing a Katherine Jenkins or a Tom Brady. You marry/date in your class. 10s with 10s, 9s with 9s, etc. The exception to that rule is when rocket girls marry below their looks because the guy is wealthy, extremely talented, or a hilarious blogger.

      I wouldn’t exactly say they are/were homely. But my point was what they looked like did not matter to them. How they got together I don’t know. Or how some of the couples in my building got together I don’t know, either. But the looks did not matter in the slightest. Sometimes it takes as little as a casual conversation. Or an act of kindness.

      • May 17, 2012 at 1:48 pm

        OK, that was supposed to go somewhere else. Why did it go here?

    • May 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      see my reply below. why it went there is beyond me.

  27. Sean
    May 17, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Dave, how did they find out about what was inside of their future wives without being initially attracted to them in the first place?

    • May 17, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      You would have to ask them that. I don’t know that answer. You can ask that of any couple out there where one isn’t “physically attractive.”

    • May 17, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      All I can say is my oldest brother met his wife in college in 1970 and my older brother met his wife at his former job (Lowrey electronics) in 1976 or so.

  28. Danny Mac
    May 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Liquor helps with then when you’re in a bit of a dry spell. Any port in a storm as they say.

    • Cara
      May 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Ewww. I hope that never holds true for me. I hope I never hate myself that much lol

      • Danny Mac
        May 17, 2012 at 1:33 pm

        Are you implying that I hate myself? Because it’s quite the opposite.

  29. May 17, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    They love their wives not for their looks. That never entered the equation. And never diud enter the equation. Same thing with others i know.

    • Cara
      May 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      I still say there has to be some degree of physical attractiveness at least in the beginning. Like Sean said, you can’t tell someone is a great person just by seeing them across a room.

  30. Sean
    May 17, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Ryan, Dave and Cara it’s been fun. Unfortunately, I have things I have to get done. haha TTYL

  31. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Aww Sean, its slow at work. You’re helping pass the time :)

    • Sean
      May 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      Cara, if they aren’t having babies they’re making babies?! ;) haha

      • Cara
        May 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

        Someone is somewhere :)

  32. May 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    ok, where did I already say lol?

  33. Cara
    May 17, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Danny Mac :
    Are you implying that I hate myself? Because it’s quite the opposite.

    LOL no. I would hate myself if I had to sleep with someone gross just to get off. I’d rather take care of myself.

    • Danny Mac
      May 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      Oh true. I mean I’m not talking gross, I meant settling for maybe a 7 instead of the usual rocket 10 haha

      • Cara
        May 17, 2012 at 2:34 pm

        Settling? wow lol. That’s why girls have complexes lol

  34. May 17, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I hate msn!

  35. May 17, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    OK, I need to get supper stuff before heading to work. I don’t know what yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

