Home > Internet Sensation > Beastie Boys singer Adam Yauch dies

Beastie Boys singer Adam Yauch dies

(New York Times)–Adam Yauch, one of the founders of the seminal hip-hop group the Beastie Boys, has died of cancer at the age of 47,  his mother, Frances Yauch, said in a phone conversation. Mr. Yauch, who went by the moniker MCA, had been battling cancer since 2009, when a tumor was discovered in his salivary gland. He did not come to the Beastie Boys induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in April and his treatments for the illness forced the group to delay the release of their last album “Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2.”

I never really got into the Beastie Boys as a kid.  I think they were a little before my time, but I vaguely remember people talking about them in like 5th grade.  More than likely I missed the boat on the Beastie Boys because Momma Chief censored more media than China when I was growing up.  Sucks that this guy had to go, but at least we are set for celebrity deaths for 2012.  They supposedly come in threes and we have already lost Whitney Houston and Junior Seau.  RIP Adam Youch.

 

Follow the Chief @WindyCitiSports

  1. Jody
    May 4, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    So completely sad about this. I was in 8th grade when the Beastie Boys just came on the scene…I instantly fell in love with these crazy guys. My first concert was Run DMC/Beastie Boys. They made white rappers look cool and so freaking talented. True story…I am on the phone with my bf this morning and randomly started singing “New Style” but this is a normal thing because I know every single word to most of their songs…but it was ironic that MCA at that time was losing his battle with cancer and I was paying a tribute to him and didn’t even know it. Sad day indeed :( RIP Adam Yauch.

  2. May 4, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    A tribute to MCA. You will be missed!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

