Home > Locks of the Century > Lock of the Century: Pumping My Own Tires

Lock of the Century: Pumping My Own Tires

Before the Stanley Cup Finals Started I gave the Citizens four Locks of the Century.  In those bets, I went 3-1.  Let’s recap:

More Total Points

Burrows -150

Bergeron +120

Before the series I said: “Burrows sucksI don’t know how else to put it.  The guy rides on the skirts of the Sedin Sisters and get points almost by default.  Chara will be smashing them in the face all series long and I don’t see that line being a big factor.  Kesler will be skating against the Krejci line most likely which means Bergeron will have plenty of space to score.  Bergeron is without a doubt getting more points than Burrows.”

I am not even all that proud of this one to be honest.  Burrows sucks and is completely gutless, and now everyone knows it.  He had 3 points in the series, all of which game in game 2…a game for which he should have been suspended.  So in my mind he really had 0 points. Complete non-factor.  Bergeron, meanwhile was one of the Bruins better players and leaders in the series.  He is a terrific hockey player.  He has great character, plays two-way hockey and does all the little things right.  By my count he finished with 5 points, and his performance in Game 7 will go down in Boston folklore.  I think Bergeron will be thought of much like Dave Roberts, David Ortiz, Teddy Brushci, Ty Law, etc.  Maybe not the best player on the team, but a guy who had spectacular moments that will be remembered forever. Its a little ironic that perhaps the 3rd goal of Game 7 which completely locked up the Cup appeared to go off the hand that Burrows bit.  Karma is a bitch. Play with some class next time, asshole.

More Total Points

Erhoff -150

Chara +120

Before the series I said: “I am really confused by this one as well.  Chara will most likely be parked in front of the net on the Bruins powerplay which will give him more opportunities to score than normal.  He is also good in the transition game and should pick up a few assists when he isn’t murdering the Sedins.”

Again, picking an underdog that never should have been an underdog is nothing to write home about…but its nothing to sneeze at either.  Erhoff finished the series with a grand total of…drum roll please…1 pt.  Erhoff’s performance was…err–off.  1 pt in the series and a +/- rating of minus 7 for the series.  Way to step up in the Stanley Cup Finals, real solid performance. Meanwhile, when Chara wasn’t smashing Thelma and Louise’s faces in, he was contributing on offense as well.  He didn’t spend as much time in front of the net like I thought he would, but he still managed to chip in 4 points and was a +5 for the series.  Great performance by an elite defenseman and a strong leader.

More Total Points

Ryder +105

Bergeron -135

Before the series I said: “Ryder is good for a one big game a series, but he doesn’t get the minutes required for him to out score Bergeron for an entire series.  It also wouldn’t surprise me if Seguin takes a few shifts from Ryder as well.  Take Bergeron.”

Well if I was going to miss on one bet, I am glad it was the one involving two Bruins players.  Full disclosure, I have never been a big Michael Ryder fan, but I have to give credit where credit is due.  Ryder played a terrific series and finished with 6 points to Bergeron’s 5 points.  Ryder used his size and great shot to be a very effective player for the Bruins.  They probably couldn’t have won the Cup without him.  Props to Ryder.

Exact Series Pick

Bruins in 7

Before the series I said: “My heart says Bruins, my head says Canucks, and my balls say Bruins.  Usually when my balls and heart agree it’s a recipe for disaster…but I don’t care.  Bruins in 7. Suck it Canada.”

I am quite proud of this one.  The Bruins were big underdogs in the series.  Vancouver had home ice advantage, had just come off an easy series against a soft San Jose team, had the best record, Vezina finalist in net, Hart Trophy Finalist, Selke Trophy finalist blah blah blah…I didn’t care.  All of those awards are for the regular season, and they didn’t have a Conn Smythe Trophy candidate on the roster. Something deep down inside told me that the Bruins had enough sand to win this series and I have never been happier with a winning pick in my life.  As Barry Melrose said last night on SportsCenter, it was will over skill.  The Bruins simply had too much heart, pride, grit, and character to lose to this gutless Canucks team.  This was a classic series and good won out over evil.


follow me @windycitisports

  1. June 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Chalk one up for America! Love me some Chicago but Boston is the best sports city in the world.

    • June 16, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Can’t argue with that right now. all 4 pro teams winning championships in the past 7 years…weird that the Pats have the longest championship drought in the city now. I cant shake the thought that if the Hawks got one more goal, or if Dave Bolland was able to play one more game it would have been Bruins vs Blackhawks in the finals…plenty of time for that though. Both teams are primed to dominate the next 5-7 years. See you in the finals next year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

