Home > Blackhawks, Internet Sensation > Stanley Cup Finals Game 6: Why I hate the Canucks Part Two

Stanley Cup Finals Game 6: Why I hate the Canucks Part Two

After Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals,  I did a post on why I hate the Canucks.  Well, one post on this subject isn’t nearly enough.  This series has brought to light everything that is wrong with Vancouver.  Every time I feel like I have reached a point where I can’t hate them any more than I already do, the Canucks baffle me and reach a new low.  I was always acutely aware of their on-ice act.  Whining, chirping, diving, flying elbows to the head, hair pulling, biting(well biting is a new one, but not shocking coming from scum like Burrows) etc were all to be expected when the Vancouver Canucks were on the schedule.  However, I had no idea that they were this smug and this arrogant.

I am paraphrasing here, but these are some direct quotes from the Canucks after their Game 5 win:

“Look, it doesn’t matter that I gave up 12 goals in games 3 and 4…I am better than Tim Thomas.  I would have saved that one he let in.  It was an easy save.  I am not going to sit here and keep giving Thomas compliments when he hasn’t said one nice thing about me all series. Tim Thomas is my hero and it really hurts my feelings.”–Roberto Luongo

“If I had a time machine, I’d still launch myself into Nathan Horton’s skull. Wouldn’t change a thing. It was only two seconds late and he shouldn’t have been looking at a teammate when trying to get ready for a return pass.  Its Horton’s fault I tried to give him brain damage.  I am the victim here.  The NHL isn’t consistent with their punishments.  I mean Burrows bites a guy and gets nothing, and I try to decapitate a guy and I get 4 games? How is that fair?”–Aaron Rome

“The fact that the Sedins haven’t scored one point and are like minus 23 combined for the series, doesn’t mean that they aren’t playing well or that Chara is shutting them down completely.”–Elaine Vigneault

If those three direct quotes didn’t convince you that the Vancouver Canucks are not only gutless, but also smug and arrogant maybe the story the Boston Globe is breaking will do the trick.  Not only did the Canucks plan a parade that would take place after Game 5 victory, but they also tried to sell the broadcast rights to the event.  So basically the Canucks just thought they could roll over the Bruins when it took them 6 games to beat Nashville, and 7 games to beat the Blackhawks.  Arrogant.  Hey guess what Vancouver…nobody wants to watch your stupid parade that’s 40 years in the making(that probably won’t even happen).  America hates you, the rest of Canada hates you, Sweden probably hates you, so you’ll probably end up having to put it on Vancouver Public access TV or something. Maybe U-stream.

DROP THE PUCK. I am ready for blood.  Rise up Boston.  Bruins 4, Nucks 1. So it was written, so let it be done.

follow me @windycitisports

  1. June 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    you are an embarrassment to bruins fans. Check your facts.

    • June 13, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      well I am not a bruins fan, but what facts should I be checking?

  2. Puckhawg
    June 13, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    What broadcast were you watching or what biased newspaper article did you read? You completely mis-quoted all three of your “arrogant Canucks.” Make up your mind, are you “paraphrasing” or “direct quoting”?If you’re going to hate on a hockey team and a city and speak as the authority for the rest of the world, the least you could do is GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT!

    First, Boston is planning their parade in the event that they win as well. They have to because the Stanley Cup Parade has to occur as soon as the series is decided. If they’re not planning for a victory, then they’re planning to lose. Not to mention, it is more than likely that Boston leaked the tv rights story to the media to set a fire under their team,game six was do or die for their team afterall.

    Second, the Canucks finished on top of the league this season, if any team deserves to win Lord Stanley’s Cup after 40 Years, it’s the Canucks.

    Third, regardless of whether the Canuks win or lose, they are the only NHL team to sell out EVERY game. Count them, that’s 18,000 seats buddy, EVERY game! If that doesn’t say something about the commitment of British Columbia to the game of hockey and to the Vancouver Canucks, I don’t know what does?

    Third, I’m not even going to waste my time responding to your other comments because they’re completly “gutless” and “arrogant,” and you have no clue what you’re talking about.

    Finally, allow me to educate you, the Canucks belong to British Columbia (not just Vancouver), BC is a Province of Canada, and Hockey is Canada’s Game. So, in the future do the world a favor and get your facts straight before you insult an entire city, province, and country!

    • June 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      hmm…where do I start with this…I am not going to comment on the jokes that went over your head.

      lets start with your third point, thats the one that is based on facts. The Blackhawks are my team and they sold out every game and led the league in attendance for the 3rd straight year. However, the Blackhawks were 1 of 12 teams that recorded a sellout at every home game. Canucks are included in that 12. The canucks ranked 7th overall in attendance.

      Teams usually do plan their parade routes etc before the win is secured. I have never heard of a team planning the exact day of the parade before a series even starts. That doesn’t even make sense from a logistics stand point. However, given the fact that Vancouver has never won anything maybe I’ll give you and your city a pass on that one too. I dont think the Boston press needed to fire up the Bruins, I think Luongo shooting his mouth off about Thomas provided any extra emotion that may have been needed.

      I am aware of BC as a province. Pretty sure nobody lives North of Vancouver because all that is up there is moose. I have no qualms with Vancouver or BC, or Canada. Just the Canucks and their fan base.

      Sweet game tonight…losers.

  3. Mick
    June 14, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Mayor… you are freaking awesome. And great prediction for the game!

    As an unbiased Hawks fan, do you think the Bruins have the capabilty to take the games they have played at the Garden and translate them to Vancouver ice? I think that will be the deciding factor tomorrow night. The B’s have hung with, or dominated, the Canucks. There is no reason they shouldn’t be able to hit more toward the domination end of the meter tomorrow night. But will they?

    • June 14, 2011 at 10:54 am

      My honest, unbiased opinion is that the Bruins can and will win game 7 in Vancouver. I think perhaps the Bruins were a little over confident after games 3 and 4 and maybe exhaled a little during game 5. Still only lost by one goal, but obviously Vancouver controlled that game. Lessoned learned. The Bruins will lay it all out on the ice in game 7. When the Bruins play on the edge and force an emotional game it is to their favor. The Canucks wilt in those situations. I believe the game will be much closer as the Canucks will try to play the game to a stand still, but I will say Bruins 3, Losers 1. Original 6 reign. See you in the finals next year Boston.

  4. BostonPucks
    June 14, 2011 at 9:28 am

    The best sign for Game 7, is the war of attrition is tilting the Bs way. The Canucks are down Hamhuis, Rome, Raymond … and I think a cpl of other players missed time in the 3rd period last night. Seidenberg was out for a bit, but returned. Bs are down Horton obviously, but overall I think the Canucks are a lot more banged up. The Bruins have no reason whatsoever to hold back in Game 7 so hopefully they really take it to them from the start and take advantage of the relative health advantage.

    Have the Canucks (or their media) been bitching about the Boychuk hit in the 1st on Raymond? Or the Marchand rabbit punches to one of the Sedins? I sure hope so. It’s the boy who cried wolf. The Boychuk hit (and non-call) is probably the first legit beef the Canucks have had all series … but they used up all their bitching and moaning already so it’s too late. And then Edler threw the night’s dirtiest hit on Peverly later in the 1st (Peverly dodged a major concussion at the last second) so the Canucks can’t whine with a straight face anyway!

  5. BostonPucks
    June 14, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Mayor:

    Just caught the following in an article. Figured you’d appreciate the Chicago reference:

    But as Luongo sat on the bench Monday night, the fans kept chanting his name – in the second period, in the third. The organist played “Chelsea Dagger,” the song the Blackhawks use to celebrate goals, Luongo’s own personal laugh track. They smelled it, and they still smell it.

    • June 14, 2011 at 11:04 am

      This is amazing. God I love this. The Blackhawks always play Shipping up to Boston in the 3rd period of games and I would love to have them play “I love that Dirty Water” when Vancouver comes to town next year.

  6. Mick
    June 15, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks for your support through the series, Mayor! See y’all in the Cup Finals next year and we’ll show them what class two hard nosed Original 6 teams can bring to a Finals.

    BRUINS WIN THE STANLEY CUP!!!!!

  7. Star U. Traded
    June 23, 2011 at 4:12 am

    Wow, so this is what Hawks fans do when their team is booted out of the play-offs in the first round? Bitter, bitter, bitter. You’re pretty much just mocking yourself at this point.

  8. Eric
    September 14, 2011 at 2:07 am

    He’s not an embarrassment bro, America does hate em

  9. B
    April 7, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    GO CANUCKS GO!! WOOOOOOO!!!!!! Hope you got your hate blogs ready for the presidential team!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    • April 8, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Canucks hate blogs pour out of me like water from a faucet. Its the most natural thing I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

